The Student Room Group

Any zoology students?

I'm going to take Biology, Chemistry, Russian and History for my A levels and I'm thinking about studying biology specializing in Zoology at uni. Are these good choices and what is the content involved in the course like, any particularly hard areas? It would be great to spend time abroad, is this common for a zoology course? Any pointers would be appreciated.
I'm a zoology student, the monkeys are my favourite. :biggrin:
Reply 2
Ok lol, I'll bear that in mind.
They seem like good choices, a lot of unis ask for two sciences, and most will want one to be biology. I don't do zoology at the moment, I'll be starting in september so can't tell you much, but most of the courses I looked at had an optional module abroad, usually Africa or South America :smile:
Reply 4
Original post by heartskippedabeat
They seem like good choices, a lot of unis ask for two sciences, and most will want one to be biology. I don't do zoology at the moment, I'll be starting in september so can't tell you much, but most of the courses I looked at had an optional module abroad, usually Africa or South America :smile:

Ok, cheers. Where are you going to study? Are you going to take the abroad module?
Original post by Bardem
Ok, cheers. Where are you going to study? Are you going to take the abroad module?

Queen Mary :biggrin: Hopefully yeah, although it's not til third year. It's two weeks in Borneo studying tropical ecology and conservation, looks really good!

I know that Cardiff and Manchester, and probably some other unis aswell, do a Zoology sandwich course where your third year is spent on professional placement and you could go abroad for that year, if that's more the type of thing you were looking for :smile:
Reply 6
Being in London I imagine you can get involved with the Natural History Museum, London Zoo, F.E etc? Yeah, the professional placement sounds cool, I want to work abroad anyway so it would be fitting.