The Student Room Group

GPA of 3.1: Could I get into SDSU or others like the CSUs?

Hi :smile:
I am looking into Universities in California, based on my GCSES I would have a gpa of 3.1, I have done volunteer work, I play 2 musical instruments and am also planning a volunteer job for the summer. I am a very active and well rounded student. I Haven't done the SAT's yet but i will do them this summer also and next year if I have to.
I am looking to study Engineering and I am currently looking into California State Universities and others like SDSU etc.
With a GPA of 3.1, do I stand at all a chance?
I am a well rounded student, I take part in school activites and clubs, I take part in sport and have taken part in charitable events, do I stand a chance for even California State University? If so which campuses because I really wanna go to a College that has a good Social life within the College because I'v heard that CSULB has no social life because everyone still lives at home? I have U.S Citizenship so I am not International, I plan to either move in with my dad in LA for a year before to count as a resident. Please if you have any good ideas for which College you think I have a chance to get into and would see a good social life and a fairly decent academic background on Engineering please reply! :smile: Please excuse the grammatical errors because last time I did a post nearly every reply was just making fun of my thread. I'm just a bit dyslexic and I don't wanna spend days on touching it up, and don't give that as evidence to the notion that I'm a bad student. lol PLEASE HELP :smile:
Reply 1
Original post by joey168
Hi :smile:
I am looking into Universities in California, based on my GCSES I would have a gpa of 3.1, I have done volunteer work, I play 2 musical instruments and am also planning a volunteer job for the summer. I am a very active and well rounded student. I Haven't done the SAT's yet but i will do them this summer also and next year if I have to.