The Student Room Group

Computer Science exam type?

so ive heard some computer science exams are as long as 3 hours long.
are these exams essay based? if yes or no, what sort of questions are they?
if it depends on the unis these r the ones im considering: imperial, ucl, soton, bristol, warwick etc...

Scroll to see replies

Reply 1
Warwick student here.

My 3 hour exams are all mathematics exams, and most could be completed within 90 minutes with easy. I took 2 hours on my most recent one but that was with extensive checking of answers.

I think the 3 hour time limit is a more a generous thing rather than anything that may cause you an issue.

- Dan.
Reply 2
Original post by Sokka
yes you're right. eventhough i'm a gcse student, i've recently been checking the statistics edexcel papers which allow 2.5 hours to complete. I mean it's crazy! I think they allow that time limit so you can check answers because it's a very long exam, but judging by the grade boundaries (71/100 for an a*) i cant see why they would give that long. I completed most past papers in under 1.5 hours and had plenty of time checking - basically, these long exams have generous time limits which shouldn't cause a problem; infact, you should be happy to have that long if you know your stuff well ;]

I'm sorry but you can't really comment if your doing GSCE's
Reply 3
Original post by Sokka
freedom of speech ftw!! :biggrin:
ty for the neg-rep whoever that was. i really appreciate it

btw im kind of a gcse/a level student since im doing a level math in yr 11 too... so yh.

The question is asking about Computer Science exams at uni. Your GCSE and A-level exams are not relevant.
Reply 4
Original post by Sokka

btw im kind of a gcse/a level student since im doing a level math in yr 11 too... so yh.

i don't care, when you (2 years later) start your degree it's going to be massive jump up from A level Maths!
Reply 5
and are these exams essays or calculations?