The Student Room Group

Ask a Chemical Engineer Anything

I graduated with a MEng in Chemical Engineering from The University of Nottingham in 1997, and a PhD in Fluid Dynamics from Heriot-Watt in 2001.

I currently work in North America selling and supporting in engineering simulation software.

I still use some of the skills I learned as an undergraduate, as well as some of the math. I've stayed in the technical stream, but I have a hand in selling and marketing as well.

Ask me anything at all about my career, studying, whatever.

T

Scroll to see replies

Reply 1
This may seem like a stupid/typical question but around how much is your salary a year if you don't mind me asking, I just want to see if its comparable to the UK average of £53,000

Also how many hours and days do you work, is it flexible and are you still interested in chemical engineering after all this time, also what are the job oppurtunities like as in is there a wide range available with not too much competition?

Many Thanks
Reply 2
Original post by tyrian
I graduated with a MEng in Chemical Engineering from The University of Nottingham in 1997, and a PhD in Fluid Dynamics from Heriot-Watt in 2001.

I currently work in North America selling and supporting in engineering simulation software.

I still use some of the skills I learned as an undergraduate, as well as some of the math. I've stayed in the technical stream, but I have a hand in selling and marketing as well.

T

This may seem like a stupid/typical question but around how much is your salary a year if you don't mind me asking, I just want to see if its comparable to the UK average of £53,000

Also how many hours and days do you work, is it flexible and are you still interested in chemical engineering after all this time, also what are the job oppurtunities like as in is there a wide range available with not too much competition?

Many Thanks
Reply 3
Original post by Inferno360

Many Thanks