The Student Room Group

Strong Induction?

I know normal induction. Can anyone please explain or give a link to good website which explains strong induction?
Reply 1
Let P(n) be some expression.

In normal induction, you say something like, "If P(n) is true then so also is P(n+1)"
In strong induction you would say, "If P(k), k= 1 to n, are true, then so also is P(n+1)"

In strong induction, you would have a situation where there are multiple instances of an expression being true, and that these lead to the n+1 th instance being true also.
Reply 2
I'm really no expert so I'd be happy to be corrected, but this is what I've picked up from reading wiki. In plain induction you first have to prove a base case, P(n) where n would usually equal zero. Then you also have to prove that if P(m) is true then P(m+1) is also true and that proves P(x) for any positive integer value of n (ie the natural numbers).

But in strong (aka complete) induction, the inductive step includes an implication that all smaller values as well as larger values are true, so there's no need to separately state the base case.

They also put it in this way, paraphrasing: that in strong induction, the inductive case corresponds to the base case as well.

It's as if the inductive step simultaneously proves the inductive step and the base case. I'm afraid I can't give an example because frankly, I didn't understand any of them : )

Can anyone else give a nice example?
(edited 12 years ago)
Original post by tleave2000
I'm really no expert so I'd be happy to be corrected, but this is what I've picked up from reading wiki. In plain induction you first have to prove a base case, P(n) where n would usually equal zero. Then you also have to prove that if P(m) is true then P(m+1) is also true and that proves P(x) for any positive integer value of n (ie the natural numbers).