The Student Room Group

MSc Finance LSE vs MSc MTF at CASS ?

I have been working at a tier 1 IB for about a year now and I'm interested in moving into trading. I decided to do a part time masters while i work to pick up some finance/ more quant knowledge. Im stuck between two courses - MSc in finance at lse and mathematical trading & finance at CASS. Although LSE is a better name, at the end of the day the content also matters, and the MTF course seems to have much more quantitative elements while the LSE finance course is just a typical finance course that i can probably learn from a book and/or from a CFA course (which I dont plan to do). Im in a bit of a dilemma as I'm not sure if the advantage gained from the LSE name is big enough to outweigh the content being more interesting and relevant with the CASS course.. for reference I have a first class MEng degree (UCL) and AAAA at A-levels.

Any recommendations?

Cheers

Scroll to see replies

Reply 1
Go for LSE.

tbh, I find it even quite odd that someone who is from the calibre to get accepted to the MSc Finance programme at LSE would even ask something like this but yea..
Reply 2
Are you saying this because of the reputation? MTF seems so much more quantitative and thats whats attractive to me..
Reply 3
I am on the MSc Finance course at LSE and i' d say it's not as quant as the MTF at Cass. Prestige wise it's also a toss up as markets boys know the quality of the MTF at Cass. Don't get me wrong I am the biggest LSE snob you'll find, but the MTF will leave you better equipped AND the MTF has the name factor (not other Cass Masters mind).
You have a quantish degree already. I would wait another year and go to LBS.
Reply 5
LBS or LSE every single time. They are leagues above Cass regardless of the marketing spiel on the Cass website.
Reply 6
Sounds you have the requirements already for a full time job, why study a masters?
Reply 7