The Student Room Group

'Ibuprofen' - how do you pronounce it?

I work in a shop, and a few days ago a lad came in and asked for some Ibuprofen. The conversation went a little like this...

Him: Can I have some Ibroofen please?
Me: What, sorry?
Him: Ibroofen.
Me: :eyeball:
Him: Ibroofen, y'know... tablets.
Me: Oh, you mean I-be-pro-fen?
Him: No... :eyeball:
Me: *grabs Ibuprofen* These?
Him: Yeah.
Me: :colonhash:

Turns out that 'Ibroofen' is a pretty common pronunciation of the word, although it strikes me as being totally wrong. It's not spelled that way at all.

The online dictionary advises: "ahy-byoo-proh-fen," which has us both wrong, but me significantly closer. He took a whole syllable out the word ffs.

So, how do you pronounce it? 'I-be-pro-fen,' 'Ibroofen,' or something even more crazy?

Scroll to see replies

Reply 1
I kinda change how I say it lol. I say how you've spelt it phonetically and also how you say it, but I've never heard 'Ibroofen'!
Reply 2
I-bu- prof- en or more just brofen/ vitamin I :smile:
I-byou-pro-fen
Eye-bew-pro-fen
I B PRO FEN? Same as you
Reply 6
Eye-be-pro-fen. Sometimes eye-bew-pro-fen.
(edited 12 years ago)
Reply 7
Ive always said i-ro-bru-fen.
oops :|
Original post by scriggy
I work in a shop, and a few days ago a lad came in and asked for some Ibuprofen. The conversation went a little like this...

Him: Can I have some Ibroofen please?
Me: What, sorry?
Him: Ibroofen.
Me: :eyeball:
Him: Ibroofen, y'know... tablets.
Me: Oh, you mean I-be-pro-fen?
Him: No... :eyeball:
Me: *grabs Ibuprofen* These?
Him: Yeah.
Me: :colonhash:

Turns out that 'Ibroofen' is a pretty common pronunciation of the word, although it strikes me as being totally wrong. It's not spelled that way at all.

The online dictionary advises: "ahy-byoo-proh-fen," which has us both wrong, but me significantly closer. He took a whole syllable out the word ffs.

So, how do you pronounce it? 'I-be-pro-fen,' 'Ibroofen,' or something even more crazy?