The Student Room Group

Which Further Maths Syllabus to take

Hi guys,

I am an international student currently taking a gap year to sort out my priorities. However I don't want to fall out of studies and am thinking of self teaching myself Further Maths and was wondering if someone could maybe help me choose which syllabus is the best to take- edexcel, cie or whichever and also tell me why they think that is better.
It would also be great if you could tell me which one is most preferred my universities in UK and is considered the hardest.

UPDATE: Since you guys said it would help better if you knew :smile:, for my maths A levels I had taken the CIE board and am currently thinking about a degree in computer science at Uni. level for which I was told high level calculus and vectors is a must.
(edited 12 years ago)

Scroll to see replies

Original post by IngloriousJaen
Hi guys,

I am an international student currently taking a gap year to sort out my priorities. However I don't want to fall out of studies and am thinking of self teaching myself Further Maths and was wondering if someone could maybe help me choose which syllabus is the best to take- edexcel, cie or whichever and also tell me why they think that is better.
It would also be great if you could tell me which one is most preferred my universities in UK and is considered the hardest.

I don't think there is a particular hard exam board. (Although OCR have a reputation for messing up papers). Universities don't care which exam board you take either.

I would say the only deciding factor would be if one exam board had modules you wanted to do and the other didn't. i.e D2 or M5 etc.
Hi guys,

Hello,
I'm studying OCR Further Maths at the moment. It's okay as a syllabus, the exam was today in fact, and it was surprisingly okay. I don't know anything about the other syllabuses but I know that for maths, edexcel is meant to be easier, so maybe the same applies for further maths.