The Student Room Group
Graduate, University of Stirling
University of Stirling

Stirling University FAQs (Updated)

Starting a new thread so that this one doesn't get lost in the applicant thread. Please note, I do not work for the uni - I'm just a fourth year student lending you guys a hand so any inaccuracies in what I'm saying are mistakes or old informaton. A lot's probably changed since I was in your shoes!

Contents:
1. Before you go
2. Halls
3. The Campus
4. Classes and Workload
5. Stirling

1. Before you go.

Spoiler

2. Halls.

Spoiler

(Note, I lived in AKD so there may be some variations for different accommodations.) Each room comes with a single bed (with one duvet, one pillow and the relevant bed sheets), one wardrobe, one desk with drawers, one desk chair, one sink and one set of shelves (if in ASH, then you will not have a sink in your bedroom as you have your en suite). None of the furniture can really be moved around. The rooms are generally an alright size, though the rooms in ASH were bigger than AKD. As long as you keep it relatively tidy you should have enough room.

b. How many people will I be living with?

Loads. Obviously this varies hall to hall, but in AKD each floor had 26 rooms on it (except for the very top floor) and then each floor had an east and west wing. There will be literally hundreds of people there. You won’t meet them all and you won’t be expected to know everyone.

c. What will my kitchen look like/have/how many people do I have to share with?