The Student Room Group

Aberdeen or Glasgow?

Hey!

I’m studying law at a German University and want to spend a semester abroad in Scotland in my third year. As Edinburgh only takes EU students for a whole year I have narrowed down my choices to the University of Glasgow and the University of Aberdeen. It would be great if some of you could give me your opinions on which one is better in terms of

- reputation for law and overall. I don't know if the University of a semester abroad plays an important role in the application process but: Would any of them improve or diminish my prospects of getting accepted by a reputable uni for postgrad studies such as UCL, King’s College or Oxbridge?

- student life including nightlife, accommodation and living costs

- the city itself (architecture). I have only seen Aberdeen on pictures and been to Glasgow for only a few hours so far. However, I think I like Aberdeen more and it is right beside the sea. But on the other hand, the university building of Glasgow is quite impressive, almost like a castle and Aberdeen seems to be a bit far away from everything...

Also I’d like to know what kind of people are more likely to attend those universities (e.g. privately educated students). It’s not that I have prejudices it just would be helpful to know to gain an overall impression.

Thanks a lot!
Glasgow.

The Uni is more respected, the city and nightlife are much better, it's much easier to get to other places (Edinburgh, England) from.
Reply 2
Original post by LittleCheetah
Hey!

I’m studying law at a German University and want to spend a semester abroad in Scotland in my third year. As Edinburgh only takes EU students for a whole year I have narrowed down my choices to the University of Glasgow and the University of Aberdeen. It would be great if some of you could give me your opinions on which one is better in terms of