The Student Room Group

Anyone on here doing German AS with AQA?

Hiya there,

I just wondered as am currently doing this through distance learning and unfortunately I haven't got any contact with those who are doing the same course as me through Craven College. I plan to do the AS exams in January and then the A2 next June if at all possible. I have also been reading some of the posts on here about 'Ich fühle mich so fifty-fifty' and haven't been put off doing it yet for my A2! I must admit I am finding it quite a challenge seeing as I only started learning properly back in about March time (did my GCSE this summer and got an A*, God knows how cos my German is rubbish!).

Anyway, hopefully someone will answer!

Jordan :smile:
Reply 1
Is no one doing this here?!
I just did my AS and got an A grade (A in oral, B in written paper - though 3 ums off of A!).. what sort of advice are you seeking?
Reply 3
Original post by rubadubdub
I just did my AS and got an A grade (A in oral, B in written paper - though 3 ums off of A!).. what sort of advice are you seeking?

That's very good! Well, I guess I'm just wondering who's doing it. I'm much more used to Romance languages (did my degree in Spanish and Italian and also have an A in A-Level French), and so German has proven difficult to me, but I think I'm getting the hand of it now (just submitted my third essay about 'Kommunicationstechnologie' to my tutor!) and have had good results for the first two essays; I'm just worried about my speaking and listening tbh as I think the rest will come with time.
I've always found Spanish rather hard - that, or the numerous number of different Spanish teachers I had at school. But I find German to be relatively easy as there are lots of cognates and it's just great reading something as it's written!
I think the topics at AS aren't particularly riveting or exciting but hey ho!
Original post by rubadubdub