The Student Room Group

Official Dissertation Thread - 2011-2012

Hello all finalists!

To follow on from the previous years, here's the brand spanking new thread for you all to rant/gloat/procrastinate about your dissertations. Oh and actually motivate each other to do some work. Yes. :ninja:

If you wish, state your topic, whether you got the supervisor you wanted, how much reading you've done so far - whatever you want!

Links to previous threads:
2010-2011
2009-2010
2008-2009

Scroll to see replies

Reply 1
Ooh, I was wondering if one of these would be started for this year :smile:

I'm studying English and I'm starting my dissertation, well as soon as I get back really... 26th September. We don't get assigned our supervisors until after Christmas.

I've got a rough idea of what I want to do: "How class and social mobility is represented in 19th century literature" - a bit overdone probably but hopefully there'll be a fair bit of secondary reading on it.

Of course this could allll change :p: To be honest I'm really worried about my dissertation, if I screw up my whole degree is somewhat screwed. Lots of pressure!
Reply 2
Original post by amizzle91
Ooh, I was wondering if one of these would be started for this year :smile:

I'm studying English and I'm starting my dissertation, well as soon as I get back really... 26th September. We don't get assigned our supervisors until after Christmas.

I've got a rough idea of what I want to do: "How class and social mobility is represented in 19th century literature" - a bit overdone probably but hopefully there'll be a fair bit of secondary reading on it.

Of course this could allll change :p: To be honest I'm really worried about my dissertation, if I screw up my whole degree is somewhat screwed. Lots of pressure!

:eek: That's a bit late to get a supervisor! When do you have to hand yours in? I got assigned mine in May/June and I was supposed to see him last term but...yeah :tongue: