Results are out! Find what you need...fast. Get quick advice or join the chat
Hey there! Sign in to join this conversationNew here? Join for free to post

Really hate a compulsory module, what can be done?

Announcements Posted on
Applying to Uni? Let Universities come to you. Click here to get your perfect place 20-10-2014
    • 0 followers

ReputationRep:
    I'm a second year student studying Economic History, and most of my modules, particularly the ones I picked, I really enjoy. However, there's one that is just so awful, EH220. Even from before I had the first lecture, it sounded boring as hell but I thought I would give it a chance. The lecture was terrible and I've had a look at the reading list and all the topics on moodle and there is literally not one aspect of the course I find interesting.

The problem is, this course is compulsory for straight Economic History. I have no idea why, because it's not a pre-requisite course for any 3rd year modules or anything, so do you think if I talk it over with my academic advisor, he would let me substitute it for another EH2XX module?

Last year, I also did EC102 and MA100, but I did quite badly and just about passed both of them, but right now I would rather switch to Economic History with Economics and do EC201 because I would find that a lot more interesting and put more effort into it than I would EH220.
    • 0 followers

ReputationRep:
    LOL
    • 2 followers

ReputationRep:
    Suck it up.
    • 2 followers

ReputationRep:
    (Original post by celebretty)
    I'm a second year student studying Economic History, and most of my modules, particularly the ones I picked, I really enjoy. However, there's one that is just so awful, EH220. Even from before I had the first lecture, it sounded boring as hell but I thought I would give it a chance. The lecture was terrible and I've had a look at the reading list and all the topics on moodle and there is literally not one aspect of the course I find interesting.