The Student Room Group

Questions on application - Int. Student

I am a German student. I will be applying for Mathematics at the top unis next year.
Therefore, I have a few question about how to prepare for the interview, STEP and so on.

1. I would like to go through A-Level Maths and Further Maths so that I can get used to the language, as well as compare it with the material I study in Germany. Which books would you suggest me to use for... ? Would you say it is useful to go through A-level material or should I just familiarize myself with the mathematical language?

2. What is the best way to prepare for the STEP in my situation. Is there any particular aspect I have to put special emphasis on?

3. Despite A-level Maths and Further Maths, what do I have to know for Oxbridge interviews?

Thank you in advance.

Sven
Reply 1
Original post by sven93
I am a German student. I will be applying for Mathematics at the top unis next year.
Therefore, I have a few question about how to prepare for the interview, STEP and so on.

1. I would like to go through A-Level Maths and Further Maths so that I can get used to the language, as well as compare it with the material I study in Germany. Which books would you suggest me to use for... ? Would you say it is useful to go through A-level material or should I just familiarize myself with the mathematical language?

2. What is the best way to prepare for the STEP in my situation. Is there any particular aspect I have to put special emphasis on?

3. Despite A-level Maths and Further Maths, what do I have to know for Oxbridge interviews?

Thank you in advance.

Sven

1. I presume that you have done some exams that is similar to A-levels? (Do you have Core Maths (C1-C4), Mechanics (M1-M4), Statistics (S1-S4) and Further Pure (FP1-FP3) modules?) I guess that you can just familiarize yourself with the language. Because I think that most likely the exams will be quite similar (As I think maths is an universal language)