The Student Room Group
Reply 1
I don't see why it can't work, a relative of mine is due to get married soon, he works in Brussels, she lives in Portugal (I can't remember hw they met off the top of my head, I think it was something to do with her being in Brussels at some point).
Reply 2
but if they love each other and he goes back, they will have the difficulty of long distance relations. if they get married, one of them will have to give up everything and move
Reply 3
it'll work if you want it to work.if you're negative or sceptic (sp?) from the start then it won't. i am an international student (technically) and i went back during the summer and didn't see my bf for 2-3 months,we're still together now though,a year and a bit later.so it can work. :smile:
I'm sure they can work but I also imagine they can be extremely difficult to maintain. I have met a lot of international students that I've been really attracted to, but I've been reluctant to take things further because there is always the thought in the back of my mind that they will probably only be in this country for a year. The idea of an overseas relationship where I'd rarely see my girlfriend does not appeal in the slightest :redface:
Reply 5
shinytoy
but if they love each other and he goes back, they will have the difficulty of long distance relations. if they get married, one of them will have to give up everything and move

If you love each other enough, then you will make it work.
In the case of my relative, they're both going to move to England (where my relative is originally from).

With regards to who gives something up, that's obviously something that you would hve to work out as a couple, although if one/both have transferrable skills/jobs (eg nursing), then it perhaps not that difficult.
Reply 6