The Student Room Group

3 or 4 a levels?

Currently I am studying psychology,sociology, history and english lit at as level.
However I am really not enjoying history and will probably get a c at best. I want to study english lit at one of the top 30 universities (excluding oxbridge). Would doing the 3 a levels psychology, sociology and english lit be a disadvantage over someone who did more than 3 a levels e.g 3 a levels and 1 as level, someone who did more traditional, broader subjects? :smile:
If it means you'll get better grades overall, then yes, studying three would be the better option. Also, it would be unwise if you're not enjoying one of your options to carry on with it as it could potentially drag all your grades down, preventing you from getting a place at one of the better universities.

Universities only care about 3 A2s, unless they state otherwise, so dropping one at the end of year 12 and only carrying on with 3 is the best option.

If you drop history you'll end up with 3 A2s and 1 AS (history), just so you know.

Just make sure you get the grades, do lots of related extra curricular stuff, and write an amazing personal statement and you'll be more than good enough to go to where you want to go.
Original post by jodiefoster23
Currently I am studying psychology,sociology, history and english lit at as level.
However I am really not enjoying history and will probably get a c at best. I want to study english lit at one of the top 30 universities (excluding oxbridge). Would doing the 3 a levels psychology, sociology and english lit be a disadvantage over someone who did more than 3 a levels e.g 3 a levels and 1 as level, someone who did more traditional, broader subjects? :smile:

I think you'd be better off just keeping history until the end of this year, and dropping it afterwards. If any of your offers from university are given in points (rather than grades) this could include your 3 A2's as well as your 1 AS.