The Student Room Group

Cambridge Graduate - Failing at Life! =/

Hey,

I graduated from University of Cambridge in 2010 with a MA in Natural Sciences (Geology). I really disliked the elements of the course and the intensive workload so to distract myself I just partied, girls, etc. My tutors hated me because of my lack of effort and further because I just didn't take it seriously. Hence the partying and fun.

I ended up with 51%, I just scrapped a 2:2, during that time I tried to apply for graduate schemes and general vacancies that I saw appropriate. I had no luck at all due to my 2:2., even though my degree was from Cambridge..and my tutors didn't particularly give me a good reference.

After graduation I ended up working in a shoddy call centre with people that had like 2GCSEs. At this moment I felt really low and how I failed at life! All my effort from attending school (Manchester Grammar School), was for nothing when I reached university.

October 2011 - I managed to secure a job in IB Operations for a small regional firm in Manchester...though the pay is really shoddy: about £19k + £3k bonus. Though I have to work like 50hours a week. It's just a little better in terms of salary in relative to my call centre job, if not the same! I see progression opportunities here I suppose, but still I am depressed.

I feel such that I didn't use a rare opportunity given to me in a wise manner. Hence you can see the cause and effect of my decisions. I feel sad, depressed, and like such a loser.

My parents worked hard to pay the fees for Manchester Grammar School and then I ****ed my degree up at Cambridge. Ended up working with chavs, uneducated pricks, and wastemans in a call centre, and now here.

I just don't know what to do with my life and this depression.

I would appreciate advice and thoughts very much, and please don't **** your life up like me!

Thanks

R

Scroll to see replies

Reply 1
You haven't said what job you'd actually like to be doing.
Reply 2