Hey there Sign in to join this conversationNew here? Join for free

Why are some muslim men so obsessed with virginity?

Announcements Posted on
    • 0 followers

ReputationRep:
    I know this sounds like a stupid question but i have seen so many muslim guys who are absolutely crazy about marrying a virgin. I mean ok it makes sense when you are young and a virgin yourself but I have seen some really old 50-60 yr old guys who would like to marry a 16 year old girl just because of the virginity issue. In many muslim countries widows do not get married because of this even if they are young and do not have any children.

Someone also said that women who are not virgins are used goods and no one wants used stuff why doesn't the same apply for men.

I for one am really offended by this used goods concept
    i mean not all of the prophet(pbuh) wives were virgins either were they.
    • 1 follower

ReputationRep:
    I'm no expert (RS GCSE) but is it not something to do with being pure for the man, proving your dedication etc.. a bit similar to why the bride would wear white (for a Christian wedding)..?
    • 0 followers

ReputationRep:
    (Original post by runtoyou)
    I know this sounds like a stupid question but i have seen so many muslim guys who are absolutely crazy about marrying a virgin. I mean ok it makes sense when you are young and a virgin yourself but I have seen some really old 50-60 yr old guys who would like to marry a 16 year old girl just because of the virginity issue. In many muslim countries widows do not get married because of this even if they are young and do not have any children.

Someone also said that women who are not virgins are used goods and no one wants used stuff why doesn't the same apply for men.

yeah the prophet peace be upon him did marry widows, but if you haven't been married before then i guess it's wanted as it shows dedication to your faith
    • 0 followers

ReputationRep:
    Because Islam hasn't left the Middle Ages yet?