The Student Room Group

Anyone else having a crap time at uni?

I'm a first year student and uni for me has been pretty crap so far. In the 4 months i've been here I haven't made any proper friends which is making me depressed as I spend most of my time in my room on my computer. I joined a few societies but failed to make any friends in these too. Also most of my flatmates are international students who stay in their rooms most of the time and mainly make friends with other international students. The worst thing is that the depression is affecting my studies. When i go out i see everyone else having the time of their lives and then there's me always on my own :frown:

Scroll to see replies

Reply 1
Bump
Me too.

Wanted to drop out so much last year, but couldn't thing of anything else I could do. So this year has kind of flown in. I just keep my mind occupied on my studies.

But I do go through phases of feeling depressed/anxious.

Completely alone. But I see it as a means of getting a degree.

Perhaps look into transferring? Moving halls?
yep. really thought that uni would be the big step up in my life and would cure self-esteem issues and everything but its only made everything worse. im moving halls pretty soon so hoping my new flatmates will be less reclusive but I dunno. the more depressed I get the less I can interact with people and the more I fail socially the more I get depressed, its a vicious cycle.
Original post by Anonymous
But I see it as a means of getting a degree.

I hated university, very much felt the same as you OP. This is the only thing that got me through those 3 years.
Reply 5
I'm the same as you OP. Your uni will have a support service, with things like counselling, if you need someone to talk to - it helps. What uni are you at out of interest?
Reply 6
Me too.

Wanted to drop out so much last year, but couldn't thing of anything else I could do. So this year has kind of flown in. I just keep my mind occupied on my studies.