The Student Room Group

given interview question

i think this is a pretty given interview question:
What are the major problems with the NHS?
im an interntaional student so i dont know much about the NHS and how it works, but i think the main reasons would be lack of government funding and lack of doctors? is that right and is there anything else im missing?

thanx for any help!
Reply 1
It isn't because of lack of doctors (just take a look at how many people apply for medicine - there are plenty of people willing to be doctors) it is, as you said, lack of funding to increase the amount of doctors.
Reply 2
Its also the development of new technology and treatments that are expensive. Also the fact that as the NHS is free people are more likely to go to doctors for complaints they wouldn't do if they had to pay. Hence whilst the NHS was considered affordable when it was set up in 1948 the unforseen events above mean that it costs the government more than expected.

There is also the problem of lack of competition due to the state nature of the NHS, as any business man will tell you competition is necessary for good business and efficiency. Hence there is great waste in the NHS due to lack of competition.

Some would say league tables etc. don't help (but how else do you aquire competition).
Reply 3
I applied to sheffield university and UCL to study medicine there, but I haven't heard anything from them yet?
IS IT GOOD OR BAD? i think it is baaaad.
Reply 4
i havent heard from imperial, ucl or kings for med! now i think that is baaad!

thankyou alispan and spoon1! helped alot
Reply 5
i have a question about how the NHS works. this is what i understand. UK citizens pay health care tax and this money goes to the local NHS trusts, which make sure that the money is used properly for neccessary health care. is this the correct gist of it?
Reply 6