The Student Room Group
University College London, University of London
University College London
London

mmmmmmm, i was just wonderinnn.

hey guys,
i'm an international student n probably goin to UCL now tht i have an offer..............n from where i'm from......quite a few have got offers for LSE and UCL etc....which are pretty close to each other. basically my question is this............does buying a decent house wit decent waterworks, electricity n all that stuff worth it if the price can be shared between 5-10 of us? i just thought it'd be an interesting idea and a great way to keep in touch with old friends and make new friends from other unis? what do you guys think? isit really unrealistic?

:biggrin: :p: thanks for any input, i rly appreciate it.

ben
Reply 1
well, I got an offer from LSE, and I am still waiting for king's/ucl, think ur idea is great but I doubt that you'll find a house which is big and cheap enough for 5-10 studs, ucl/lse are in the centre of london and hmm but basically, I like your idea!:biggrin:
University College London, University of London
University College London
London
Reply 2
I was watching the local news today and the average price of a house in london is now over 300,000 pounds, and by london I mean "greater london", not just the central bit. For one able to fit 5-10 people in you'd be talking significantly more, especially if you want to be even vaguely close to your place of study. I'm 40 mins train ride out of Victoria and a four bedroom house costs around 400,000. Bear in mind you'd also have to pay council tax (approx. 1500 a year) as well(I think that's how it works).

With overseas student fees to contend with as well, I'd say it was a back-breakingly expensive way to go about things.
To find a single place that sleeps 10 people in central London would cost over a million. As you're all students, well, you wouldn't pay council tax... but quite frankly, you won't find it very easy.