The Student Room Group

I don't understand this student finance information

I have been told different things by different people so I thought I would ask on here.

I am a UK student. My parents income is something like £70,000.

Do I get student finance?
What loans/grants etc if any do I get?

Also, I have a different question - I heard that once you finish your degree, if you leave the UK you do not have to pay back the money you owed. This is the case even if you are getting paid over £21,000 or whatever it is! Is this true?
Reply 2
You will get a tuition fee loan to cover your tuition fees and on a household income of £70,000 you will get the minimum maintenance loan (65% of the maximum, £5500 which is £3575) per year.

Regardless of where in the world you live you still have to repay any loans you received. When you apply for finance you agree to the terms and conditions, and part of this is that you keep SF updated with your earnings and address.

Of course, there will be some countries you could live and "hide" from SF, but should you return to the UK you may very well be charged with fraud.
Reply 3
http://www.studentfinance.direct.gov.uk/portal/page?_pageid=153,4680136&_dad=portal&_schema=PORTAL
This should give you a better indication. You'll be entitled to some Maint Loan and the full Tuition Fee Loan.
Reply 4
Just used the website glf2110 suggested and this is the info I got:

ddddddd.png

Does this look correct?
(edited 12 years ago)
Reply 5
Yes, you do need to repay loans if you are abroad. The repayment threshold depends on the country you work in.

Realistically speaking though, if you are outside the EU, there is no way they can track your earnings unless you tell them, so effectively this means you don't have to repay.
Reply 6
Original post by Hopsin rapper
Just used the website glf2110 suggested and this is the info I got:

ddddddd.png

Does this look correct?