The Student Room Group

CTA horror stories!

Hi,

I'm due to start Indirect Tax at Ernst & Young in August and am going to be studying towards the ATT and then the CTA. I have always been interested specifically in a career in Tax, which is why I was quite adamant on doing the CTA instead of the ACA. Also, I have never really been keen on audit etc, which drove me away from ACA.

However, I've heard a lot of horror stories after doing a bit of googling which has really scared me! CTA seems to have a 30% pass rate and is supposedly 40 times more difficult than the ACA!!

Studying has never really been a problem.. I have a first class degree and am a very hard worker, but I understand that these exams are on another level.

I was just wondering what my options are if I do fail the CTA (touch wood I won't!). Would I be able to switch to ACA or would I just get the sack?? I will discuss this with someone at EY but just wanted to hear from others who have actually done or are working towards the CTA?

Reply 1
KPMG have now abandoned these exams due to the amount of people failing them!

I thought with EY it was a case of doing ACA first then having the option to do CTA? I might be wrong...

The exams, especially OMB, have been highly cut down this year after they realised the pass rate forced KPMG to leave so it shouldn't be as bad. The worst thing about it was probably the mystery of what the questions might be. People revise the entire folders given to them by Kaplan or Tolleys (remembering there isn't a syllabus really) but one 20 mark question might be on one paragraph in the whole thick, A4 folder.

Good luck! I done VAT, IHT, Corp tax at Awareness, OMB and Individuals at Advisory.
Reply 2
Thanks Kemik. I guess I'm just going to have to soldier on and try my best! :smile:

You're right - most people in tax EY do the ICAS exams and then have the option to do the CTA. But in Indirect Tax they require us to do the CTA.
Original post by tangoe_07