The Student Room Group
Student relaxing in halls, University of Bolton
University of Bolton
Bolton

Bolton University

Does anyone in here go to Bolton University? if so whats it like there? is it a good place to go out in the weekends?

I plan to go there as I didn't get very good grades in school so its hard for me to get into a more decent uni so I plan to do well in my first year and then switching to a different uni.

any input would be great

John
Reply 1
Hi John,
I'm in my second year at Bolton Uni, and it sounds like you're looking at it for the same reasons I did, low grades at A Level, though for me there was also the added attraction of being near Manchester. The uni itself is relatively tiny, occupying pretty much just two main buildings, so don't expect a sprawling campus or any kind of student village. The staff, in my experience, have been great and really invest themselves in their job, always willing to help if they can, probably one of the best things about going to a smaller uni.

If you're thinking of staying in Halls of Residence, there are two on offer; Orlando, about 10 minute walk away from the uni, and Hollins, about 20 minutes away. Definitely go for Hollins, as you get ovens (essential) and the general standard and area is much nicer. If you're not, there's a lettings agency in Bolton called Campus Cribs geared towards students. Stay away. That's really all that can be said about them.

As far as going out at the weekends goes, the two main places in town (J2 & McCauleys) are nothing to shout about, but you're only a cheap 15 minute train from Manchester, and there's something for everyone there.

Hope this helps some, if you've got any more questions I'll do my best to answer them.

Tom V.
Student relaxing in halls, University of Bolton
University of Bolton
Bolton
Haha I was beginning to think I was the only Bolton student on TSR :ahee: