The Student Room Group

Public law question

Hi,

I was wondering if somebody could possibly clarify to me what is meant by the following statement (the bold parts especially), as I am an international student (from a country that couldn't be anymore different from England in terms of everything- immensely socially stratified and very corrupt, and English is my third language) and so have limited conception of UK public law and how things work in general:

The law making powers of Parliament, while theoretically and legally unlimited, are in fact constrained by the electorate to which Parliament is accountable, and by economic,moral and political necessities.

Thanks in advance
(edited 12 years ago)
1. In theory Parliament is not limited in what it can do because it's sovereign (very basically - what Parliament says goes).
2. Constrained by the electorate because obviously the electorate vote for MPs in Parliament. If the government passes/proposes a particularly unpopular law, chances are that government isn't going to be elected again (think Nick Clegg). So in that sense Parliament/the government is 'accountable' to the electorate, although not directly like the PM is accountable to Parliament through the PMQs, but through the elections.