Results are out! Find what you need...fast. Get quick advice or join the chat
Hey! Sign in to get help with your study questionsNew here? Join for free to post

what are a couple of differences of direct and representative (indirect) democracy?

This thread is sponsored by:
Announcements Posted on
Applying to Uni? Let Universities come to you. Click here to get your perfect place 20-10-2014
    • 0 followers

ReputationRep:
    Hey i am new to this and need some help with my coursework as it is 3000 words!

What are the min differences in practice and theory of direct and indirect democracy? I can figure out a few but it's not enough and I need to write more on it.

If you could help me that would be really helpful! Thanks a lot
    • 2 followers

ReputationRep:
    The central difference is that in a direct democracy, the people make decisions themselves, whereas in a representative democracy, representatives make decisions for the people.

Direct democracy is seen as a purer form of democracy. Democracy concerns enforcing the will of the people. When the people make decisions themselves, there will is automatically enforced. Representative democracy is a less purer form. Representatives must weigh the will of the people against practical considerations, party policies, political ideology and electoral interests. As a result, the will of the people will always be moulded around these considerations, and the ultimate decision will rarely, if ever, mirror the exact will of the people. At least in comparison to direct democracy.