The Student Room Group

Oxford MPhil Economics 2012 Applicants

Hi everyone,

I have read threads about people applying to Cambridge's Diploma and MSc in Economics, but none about Oxford for this application cycle. So, has anybody on TSR applied to Oxford's MPhil programme in economics for entry in October 2012?

How confident are you guys about getting in, and how confident are you about getting some kind of funding?

It would be nice if you could mention your backgrounds as well. I am currently studying for an MSc in Economics in the UK, and I am on course for a distinction.

Thanks guys,

wasmalay
Reply 1
I'm applying to the Oxford MPhil in Economics, too. I have to admit, after being put on the wait list today for the Cambridge MPhil I'm feeling a lot less confident than I was yesterday.

Has anyone heard anything from the admissions department lately? I hate that there is no way to track the status of your application with Oxford. How frustrating :/

Here's my profile:

GPA: 1,3 (German scale, 1,0 is the best possible)
GRE: 800 math / 730 verbal

I'd loe to hear from other applicants!
Reply 2
Thechoker. The course structure between Oxford MPhil Economcis and the Cambridge MPhil Economics are very different.

The Oxford one is designed for people who do not necessarily have good economic background and thus the first year of the MPhil is actually fairly qualitative. On the other hand, the Cambridge MPhil is much more technical and mathematical and thus require applicants who have very strong maths, stats and econ; this is partiuclarly so for MPhil Economic Research applicants.

Being waitlisted by Cam does not mean you will be wailisted or rejectedby Ox. They are totally different things.
Reply 3
Hey Lalafell,

thanks for the info. I didn't know that the first year at Oxford is less technical. That might be good for me, because I come from a finance undergraduate major.