Hey there Sign in to join this conversationNew here? Join for free

Books on mental health/illness for interesting reading?

Announcements Posted on
TSR Movie Madness in in to the final 16! The group winners battle it out for the overall title! 15-07-2014
    • 5 followers

ReputationRep:
    Hey guys,

I am currently studying for a Biology degree and a part of science which particularly fascinates me is mental health.

Does anyone have any books that they would recommend under the umbrella of neuroscience/mental illness?

It's a interesting area of which I'd like to delve into in quite some depth!

Particular areas of interest are psychosis/schizophrenia and the mechanisms involved in hallucinations etc.

Many thanks in advance
    • 6 followers

ReputationRep:
    The Man Who Mistook His Wife For A Hat is an excellent book focusing on neurology - but I don't believe it touches on psychosis. It is worth a read though!
    • 1 follower

ReputationRep:
    I was just about to mention The Man who Mistook his Wife for a Hat, and then saw it above. That's more neurological disorder than mental health, though.

Have a look at Oliver Sacks' other work too. He has a number of books, some of which may interest you.
    • 5 followers

ReputationRep:
    Cheers guys, just had a quick google of said book and it certainly looks like an interesting read.

There must be some books - more case study based - focusing on schizophrenia/psychosis out there? I can't seem to find them, nor do I know where to look!

Thanks guys
    • 1 follower

ReputationRep:
    (Original post by thecdon)
    Cheers guys, just had a quick google of said book and it certainly looks like an interesting read.

There must be some books - more case study based - focusing on schizophrenia/psychosis out there? I can't seem to find them, nor do I know where to look!

Thanks guys