The Student Room Group

Help me rank these schools!

I'm a Norwegian student and I need your help! I want to do an Msc in International business. How would you rank these schools?

Kingston University
Oxford Brookes
Kent University
Edinburgh Napier
Reply 1
Original post by Lizzi89
I'm a Norwegian student and I need your help! I want to do an Msc in International business. How would you rank these schools?

Kingston University
Oxford Brookes
Kent University
Edinburgh Napier

If these are the unis - you're probably better off staying in Norway.
Reply 2
I worked for the UK Government Economic Service, and one of my colleagues studied MSc Economics at the University of Kent - she really enjoyed the course and the Uni - but that was econ and not business.

My advice would be to email the Universities and ask for statistics on the work placements of previous students. That should give you a good feel of what students from the unis/courses go on to do - and be better than any ranking.

Hope this helps.
Reply 3
If you have the equivalent of a 2.1 then I would highly suggest you look elsewhere...
Reply 4
Original post by _Student_
If you have the equivalent of a 2.1 then I would highly suggest you look elsewhere...

If I can add to that, even with the equivalent of a 2:2 you can get in better universities. I even know a guy with a 3rd (40%-50%, one level above fail) who did a masters degree at a similar uni to those listed. Don't undersell yourself.
If you are really set on these four, go to the city you like best.
Reply 5
Are these schools really that bad? Its just that Msc in Intenational business is only offered at two universities here in Norway, so I expected that the quality at these schools would be better.

I have an C as an average, and 3.2GPA from an exchange year in USA.

I also have an conditional offer from Newcastle, but I'm not sure If I can reach the requirement of an B grade average. Is Newcastle better than these other schools then?
Reply 6