Results are out! Find what you need...fast. Get quick advice or join the chat
Hey there! Sign in to join this conversationNew here? Join for free to post

Final year no job

Announcements Posted on
Applying to Uni? Let Universities come to you. Click here to get your perfect place 20-10-2014
    • 0 followers

ReputationRep:
    i'm in my final year of university, wanted to start a career in management consultancy straight out of university as ive already had a gap year before uni. i applied to about 8 firms unsuccessfully but i've shot myself in the foot by leaving it too late. i know i should have applied earlier and i didn't apply to any of the big 4 so i know ive only got myself to blame.

is anyone in a similar position? what plans have you got in the summer to improve applications?
    • 0 followers

ReputationRep:
    I was in an identical situation to you last year

When I realised I wouldn't have a job straight out of uni I simply focused on getting good degree results. Then after graduation I started applying for jobs and looking to bolster my CV. I eventually ended up applying to grad schemes starting Autumn 2012, which is something I didn't plan on doing. I managed to secure one and luckily they asked me to start 6 months early, so I like to think I haven't lost too much time.

Keep sending out applications and don't get demotivated by rejections. Also re Big 4, they hire all year round so keep checking their websites. Good luck.
    • 0 followers

ReputationRep:
    Just concentrate on getting a good degree before you start worrying. If you need to take another gap year then take one - when you start working you'll be glad you did and realise there really is no rush!
    • 1 follower

ReputationRep: