The Student Room Group

Access to HE - Oxbridge Applicant?

Hello There,

I am currently in the process of applying to study an Access Course in Business Studies and at the same time, I am also studying an AS and A Level in Mathematics.

My main objective is to attend university as an Undergraduate and then to study Economics.

I have a keen interest in Economics and I am very enthusiatic in the subject, which in turn was the key catalyst in my decision to further my education and gain a degree in the subject.

I am hopeful of attending Universities such as Cambridge and Oxford, which I know may sound very ambitious and a bit farfetched, however, I believe my drive, commitment and hard work will show if I get the chance at an interview.

When it comes to an application, which will be October 2012, I will be very much so underway studying a Full A level in Maths and also the relevant Access Course to Economics, which I am capable of acheiving top grades in (hopefully)

Here is a list of my previous employment which in my opinion is pretty relevant to the subject:

Paralegal - Solicitors Office
Advisor - Co-Operative Bank
Trainee Legal Assistant - Soilictors Office
Advisor - BT.

As you can see these are not the worst jobs for what I want to do, and plus I am only 20.

Do you think it is even slightly credible that I may have a shot of getting Accepted into Oxbridge? Is it even worth trying? Has anybody done this before or knows of a similair story?

Sorry for the essay guys, and thanks for any feedback.
You'd have to contact both universities directly and ask them if they accept Access to HE courses and whether having just the one A level in Maths will be enough in their view to prepare you for their courses.

It may very well be that they will not view you as suitably qualified, but you'd have to check directly with them.