The Student Room Group

Undergrad from Middlesex but Masters from the LSE...

Hi,

I have been offered a place to study my MSc Management, Organisations and Governance at the LSE starting October this year. I am currently studying BSc Accounting and Business Economics at Middlesex University and expecting to achieve a High First Class Honours.

Will the low reputation of my undergraduate Institution hinder my opportunities to get a good job after graduating from the LSE?

Also, Will employers focus more towards my Masters at LSE once I have obtained it and place little precedence towards my BSc at Middlesex?

Any advice would be grateful.
(edited 12 years ago)
Reply 1
I can't see why you are worrying about something you can't control as you are about to finish the degree. Just work harder in your masters degree and gain more work experience.
Reply 2
Original post by vinc10
I can't see why you are worrying about something you can't control as you are about to finish the degree. Just work harder in your masters degree and gain more work experience.

I echo this. You can't change your undergraduate degree. Nobody can say for sure if it will disadvantage you or not but having 'LSE' on your CV will certainly be a great advantage to have. If anything, it will show that you've worked very hard.
Reply 3
Well if your competition have bas or bscs at elite institutions as well as a masters, then you will be disadvantaged.
No it probably will not hinder them. Most employers will have the sense to see that the Masters is more recent evidence of your ability and the fact that you ended up on a prestigious programme from where you started certainly shouldn't be to your disadvantage. The actual measurable advantage it gives will be difficult to tell, because it depends very much on the competition.