Results are out! Find what you need...fast. Get quick advice or join the chat
Hey there Sign in to join this conversationNew here? Join for free

Film Studies at QMUL Vs. Media and Communication at Goldsmiths

Announcements Posted on
Applying to Uni? Let Universities come to you. Click here to get your perfect place 20-10-2014
    • 0 followers

ReputationRep:
    I've received unconditional offers for both of the above courses, without having to attend an interview - Which has left me pretty much in the dark about each course, as I didn't get the opportunity to ask any questions to course tutors/leaders!
    Does anyone have any information what so ever about either of these courses?
    Thanks a lot!:confused:
    • 1 follower

ReputationRep:
    Hi, I'm currently studying Film and English at QMUL, in the first year. As I'm doing a joint honours degree, I can tell you only about the core modules in Film Studies. In the first year, you have to take three compulsory modules, of whom the biggest (30 credits) is Introduction to Film. The other two are Auteurism (15 credits, Nouvelle Vague etc) in the first semester, and Stars (also 15 credits, about the structured polysemy of a star's persona) in the second semester. The ITF-course is quite fun, you watch a series of older films, as it is quite a historical approach to cinema starting in the early days (1890s). The course aims at the development of the ability to analyse a film with the use of the different key concepts in film, e.g. sound, narrative, mise-en-scéne, editing, genre etc. and you have to write 4 quite complex essays about those key concepts, each about one film from the module. The other two courses are much more aimed at encouraging you to assess films more freely. You'll have lively discussions in the seminar groups about Godard, Truffaut, Kieslowski and Jarmin as well as about stars like Rita Hayworth, Jane Fonda or Belmondo.