The Student Room Group

Quick Meditional Control over Pain question

Hello people,

Again I'm a 1st year medical student at Barts and the London and as a part of our curriculum we have to do presentations on certain topics, we've chosen the power of meditation as a means of controlling pain levels.

As a a result it would be great if I could get people's opinion on the use of meditation to control pain, and if you have tried it yourself then I would love to hear your experience of it.

TLDR; So:

1) Briefly, what do you know about using meditation to control pain?

2) What are your opinions on using meditation to control pain? Do you agree with it?

3) Have you tried using meditation to control pain? (This includes class session, yoga, breathing exercises)

4) If yes, do you find these sessions helped?

5) If no, would you consider using meditation methods to help control your pain, if you had pain?

Thank you very much to anyone and everyone that takes time to respond to this, it really does help :top:
Reply 1
1) Nothing sorry:redface:

2) Sounds interesting, would like to know if its real or just a placebo effect, personally if it helps it should be used, not like its taking up any/too much money from the NHS.

3) No

5) Maybe depends on the sources that told me it worked or not(reliability) and what are my alternatives.

Hope I helped :smile:
Original post by Penguinsaysquack

People use it.
2) What are your opinions on using meditation to control pain? Do you agree with it?
Can work, but paracetemol works more
3) Have you tried using meditation to control pain? (This includes class session, yoga, breathing exercises)
When I have piercings done I hum in order to control my breathing and helps me get through pain, same with giving blood.
Yes.
5) If no, would you consider using meditation methods to help control your pain, if you had pain?
N/A

Useless answers = useless, sorry!
- Not much haha. I assume it's one of the 'mind over body' methods of pain relief?