Results are out! Find what you need...fast. Get quick advice or join the chat
Hey there! Sign in to join this conversationNew here? Join for free

The Thermic Effect

Announcements Posted on
Applying to Uni? Let Universities come to you. Click here to get your perfect place 20-10-2014
    • 0 followers

ReputationRep:
    I've always used protein shakes, I'm talking whey, casein, beef isolate, egg white and expensive blends of these. I don't need to tell you that it can be costly as well as leave you feeling bloated some times. This year I went down a different route, I've been cutting for the first three months and sticking to my same training method but altered my nutrition drastically. I decided to cut out all the pre digested shakes and focus solely on food intake.

The results have been huge. I've read up on the effects of thermic digestion and it has change my metabolic rate massively, I'm fitter and more cut than I have ever been, it means I have to eat more but I eat much more cheaply than the alternative protein shake intake. A large portion of my protein intake is now through quark cheese (brilliant stuff), 78p a tub and 30g of protein and virtually fat free! Low fat unflavoured cottage cheese, poached chicken, oats, as many eggs as I can get and oily fish for essential fats. I've decided to cut out red meats altogether. Add the usual carbs of sweet potatoes, broccoli and whole wheats and I'm amazed I didn't do this years ago. I still use creatine with a nitro boost and a daily multivitamin but I'll never go back to shakes again. I manage to maintain 2g of protein per pound of body weight rule and the difference the thermic effect has on my metabolism is amazing, I truly recommend it!
    • 4 followers

ReputationRep:
    So you lowered calories and lost weight?
    • 4 followers

ReputationRep:
    (Original post by Scoobiedoobiedo)
    So you lowered calories and lost weight?