The Student Room Group

Considering changing course from CS

Hi, I'm currently studying Computer Science but don't feel it's right for me in the long-term.
I've been back and forth about it in my mind and it's just starting to get me down now.
I don't enjoy programming and find it very difficult to get my head around.
I know my course will only get harder and think I will really struggle with it.
I never want to have a job where I have to program but still hold an interest in computers and technology.

I'd quite like to stay at my current university and have been looking at other courses such as Business Management, Marketing, Politics and even Law.
Basically I just don't have a great sense of direction and feel very lost. I want a good career and to be interested in my work. In my current position I don't feel that I'm going to achieve either of these goals :frown:

Any ideas or similar experiences/stories would be appreciated, thanks!
Reply 1
Original post by joelw
Hi, I'm currently studying Computer Science but don't feel it's right for me in the long-term.
I've been back and forth about it in my mind and it's just starting to get me down now.
I don't enjoy programming and find it very difficult to get my head around.
I know my course will only get harder and think I will really struggle with it.
I never want to have a job where I have to program but still hold an interest in computers and technology.

I'd quite like to stay at my current university and have been looking at other courses such as Business Management, Marketing, Politics and even Law.
Basically I just don't have a great sense of direction and feel very lost. I want a good career and to be interested in my work. In my current position I don't feel that I'm going to achieve either of these goals :frown:

Any ideas or similar experiences/stories would be appreciated, thanks!