The Student Room Group

What did you get in your degree subject at GCSE?

Whether you already have a degree, have applied or are going to apply next year.

If you have done GCSEs and know what subject you want to/have study at university, what did you get in that subject? Providing you were able to do it at GCSE and it is not a subject you took up at A level :smile:

Just wondering...

Scroll to see replies

Reply 1
Boom.
Reply 2
My degree isnt a GCSE or A level subject/ nothing related to it... So cant help you there :wink:
I got an A* In GCSE Film Studies and I am going to to be doing Film Production at university.

Why the neg for answering the question?
(edited 12 years ago)
Reply 4
I got A*s in languages.
I will be starting an Actuarial Science degree in september, so obviously I didn't study that at GCSE :tongue:

It is heavily maths based, in which I got an A, and I also got an A in statistics GCSE. It also involves economics, which I didn't take.

I am currently taking both economics and maths, neither of which I completed a full AS in last year (just the way my school works) - but I'm on to acheive an A*/A in them.

I hope that answers what you wanted to know - anything else PM me or reply :smile:
Reply 6
I'll (hopefully) be doing French and Spanish at uni, and I got an A in them both at GCSE. :smile:
Well when I was doing A levels I did sciences, and first university course was to train to be a Vet. Now im going back to university to do Primary school teaching.
Reply 8
I didn't do History at GCSE because it was all boring modern history, same reason for not taking it at A-Level. I think the exam boards just have a massive boner for Hitler; they should change the names of GCSE and A-Level History to "Hitler Studies".
Original post by DJMayes
I'm not entirely sure if those restrictions are entirely sensible - if you can take the subject at GCSE and you want to do it at degree level then there's a very high probability that you take it at A Level.