Hey there Sign in to join this conversationNew here? Join for free

Teachers - what were you like at school?

Announcements Posted on
The Careers section needs more moderators! 21-04-2014
TSR wants you: get involved with Power Hour. 10-04-2014
Interview discussion rules - please read before posting! 12-01-2013
    • 20 followers

ReputationRep:
    I'm in my last year of 6th form, and I've applied for maths at Bath and will hopefully be doing a secondary maths PGCE afterwards. Thing is, at the moment I'm not particularly confident, get stressed easily and try to please everyone, which doesn't seem like a good set of characteristics for a teacher. I'm hoping that will change when I get to university, and am wondering: what were you like when you were at school?

Cheers. Hoping for at least a few people who were nervous and unconfident for reassurance
    • 2 followers

ReputationRep:
    (Original post by Contrad!ction.)
    I'm in my last year of 6th form, and I've applied for maths at Bath and will hopefully be doing a secondary maths PGCE afterwards. Thing is, at the moment I'm not particularly confident, get stressed easily and try to please everyone, which doesn't seem like a good set of characteristics for a teacher. I'm hoping that will change when I get to university, and am wondering: what were you like when you were at school?

Cheers. Hoping for at least a few people who were nervous and unconfident for reassurance
    My mum's a teacher and, according to her when she was at school she was lazy and crap at the subject she now teaches.

I'll bet that at once you're at university you'll become more confident - living without parents and being self-sufficient does that to you. At least, that's what's happened to me. And you'll have plenty of opportunity to get experience with kids through volunteering opportunities etc.
    • 2 followers

ReputationRep: