Results are out! Find what you need...fast. Get quick advice or join the chat
Hey there! Sign in to join this conversationNew here? Join for free

Panic attack - not good, help me distract myself?

Announcements Posted on
Become part of the Welcome Squad! Apply here! 28-10-2014
    • 10 followers

ReputationRep:
    Started with a bout of sore palpitations (felt heart pounding through chest into head and felt sore/heavy in chest) when I stood up to get a drink, now I am shaky, sweaty (sorry), hot, twitchy etc and unable to sit still, am holding onto edge of sofa with white knuckles ... What to do? Am withdrawing slowly off meds which is helping side effects but withdrawal is tough, phoning GP tommorow but what should I do for tonight? Looking for any help distracting me from it - this is the third time today things have felt panicky
    • 1 follower

ReputationRep:
    I'm not an expert but why don't you listen to some music you like? bake a cake even?! :ahee:
    • 2 followers

ReputationRep:
    hey , don't worry, i'm not an expert but this is advise that may help.

1.keep sitting on the sofa, take deep long breaths, keep breathing in.... breathing out... and stay sitting on the sofa.

2 . when you have the strength to get up, go get a glass of water and sip the cool water that may help you.

3 .then get a cloth and wet it and place it on your forehead and just lie on the sofa, you need to get your body temperature down asap.

4. keep taking deep breathes and drinking plenty of water

repeat all these steps for however long it takes you to get your body temperature down and your breathing steady
    oh and if you have a friend who you can phone who can sit next to you and listen to your fears then phone them now

hope this helps
    • 12 followers

ReputationRep:
    Do something you are familiar with

any favorite movies? Music? TV shows?

nothing scary mind, just a nice chilled out film, a chick flick perhaps...
    • 10 followers

ReputationRep: