Results are out! Find what you need...fast. Get quick advice or join the chat
Hey there! Sign in to join this conversationNew here? Join for free to post

UK citizen but not resident in UK

Announcements Posted on
    • 0 followers

ReputationRep:
    Hi there,

I'm a UK citizen who grew up outside of the UK (I only have UK citizenship) and only moved there to start my studies at university. From what I understood at the time, I was not eligible for a maintenance loan as I had not been living in the UK for at least three years. Now, I'm in my 3rd year living abroad as part of Erasmus and was wondering if the situation has changed and if there is any way I could apply for that loan.
    Are there any loopholes or ways around this? I gather my case is rather unique, so I can't find much on the internet from people in a similar situation.

Thanks for any help
    • 0 followers

ReputationRep:
    The 3 year residency needed to have been fulfilled before the start of your course I'm afraid.

It is always residency that matters, regardless of citizenship.
    • 0 followers

ReputationRep:
    (Original post by Shani)
    The 3 year residency needed to have been fulfilled before the start of your course I'm afraid.

It is always residency that matters, regardless of citizenship.
    Oh, balls
    • 0 followers

ReputationRep: