The Student Room Group

Pre-reg @ Hospital

Hi.
As I'm going to apply for a hospital pre-reg placement:eek: , I'm hoping people have been successful in their applications can help out with the following:

a) How can I prepare for the interview? Is there any background reading etc.?
b) What sort of questions did they ask you at the interview AND how did you answer (or how do you wish you answered!)?
c) Did the interview involve making a presentation of some sort?

Thanking you in advance for your help and time.

hannah
a) Same as for any interview really: read up on that hospital, also make sure you're aware of whats going on in pharmacy through PJ and stuff, out of the two interviews I had, they were asking quite a bit about what I had learnt/skills I had developed at uni and how would I use them in hospital.

b) I got asked all sorts of questions, some about when i worked in a restaurant and how skills i got from that transferred into healthcare (ie. patient/customer is no.1 and they are always your priority, you have to work in a team to make what you're doing a success etc...).

Then i got asked other questions about moral dilemas - a doctor on a ward is going to carry out an action which you know is wrong - what do you do? For that i just said about the patient has to be your main concern, so if the doctor is going to take action whihc you know could harm the patient, then do what you have to to make sure that no harm comes to the patient.

I also got asked about the agenda for change, which i messed up a bit and went on about utilising pharmacists skills more and then added as a footnote at the end that it also involves changing pay banding.

Finally I got asked "how to make a cup of tea". the woman asked everyone she interviewed that, and that was her only question, whihc was a bit weird, and seeing as she was the woman from my first choice hospital, i was a bit annoyed that i didn't get the chance to show other stuff that i know.