I used to be friends with someone, then that person deactivated their account. There was no trace of this person on my friends list.
Now, years later, I was looking through my friends list and the person's name popped up on the list. I'm sure it wasn't there before. There's no photo and the ticked "friends" tab isn't next to it, but everyone else appears normally on the list. When I click on the person's name it says "This account has been deactivated. Only you can see Steve on your friends list. You have the option to unfriend Steve".
Is this something new that facebook introduced just now and all the people that de-activated their account are suddenly popping up or does this mean the person might have re-activated their account temporarily or..?