Results are out! Find what you need...fast. Get quick advice or join the chat
Hey there! Sign in to join this conversationNew here? Join for free

Half Marathon

Announcements Posted on
Applying to Uni? Let Universities come to you. Click here to get your perfect place 20-10-2014
    • 0 followers

ReputationRep:
    Has anyone ever run a half marathon or a full one?

Any tips or advice?
    • 2 followers

ReputationRep:
    I ran the nottingham half mara last september and am going to run another one in september (in between shorter 10 mile races).

I'm not part of a running club, I've tried a few in the past but I enjoy being alone when I run so the training is all down to my own research.

Although I am no expert by any stretch of the imagination, there are a few pointers I can give you:
    -cross training is REALLY important, simply relying on running leads to injury.
    -a week before the race, don't run, or if you do, make it very low milage. This is a time to carb load and rest.
    -Don't feel you have to do a long run every week, this may lead to exhaustion.
    -websites like runnersworld are really good for getting advice.

I'm really hoping to do a marathon next year, hopefully the London marathon but am also eyeing up Brighton as an alternative.

Hope that helps and good look with training
    • 0 followers

ReputationRep:
    Thanks for your advice. I really appreciate it.
    • 2 followers

ReputationRep:
    you're welcome, hope all goes well
    • 0 followers

ReputationRep:
    • 0 followers

ReputationRep:
    I ran the Great North Run in Newcastle last September!
    Was significant to me because I lost 5 stone over the year and I couldn't really run half a mile before!

To be fair, I didn't train hard enough (furthest i had run was 5 miles), and I began smoking a few months before, so things weren't looking up for me.

I just told myself that there was no way that i wasn't going to do it, and it works! Mind over matter every time.