The Student Room Group

whose income do i declare in this really messed up family situation?

This is a really long story, so to cut it short, ive been supporting myself for 2 years off my student loan.

My mum passed away 2 years ago, and my Dad moved out the house in with a new woman.

My brother and his family (wife and kids) now own my family home, with my sister in the converted garage.

There is a caravan in the garden where i stay when im back (except it has no heating.water or anything) and now its apparently fallen apart and ive been told im not allowed to go home (not that i do anyway. In the past 8 months ive been back christmas day and boxing day)

So i pretty much live at University and dont get any family support.

Obviously my address i put down my home address just for correspondence, but in terms of student finance what do i put?

It says i cant be an independent student because i havent supported myself for 3 years or more. But I dont live anywhere other than at uni. When i graduate i will have nowhere to live- im not just saying that- i genuinely have nowhere- theres no rooms at my old house.

So who am i meant to put on evidence section?
Reply 1
It is always either your parents or you prove you're an independent student. In your case, it would be your dad you put down and you will be income assessed off his income and that of his partner's.

To qualify as an independent student you must either be:

25 or older
Married
Have children
Have supported yourself financially for 3 years before your course started
Be estranged from your parent(s)
So look into how you can become classed as 'estranged'.

Technically, you should say your dad, otherwise every family could label their child estranged and hence get grants when really they could and should of paid.

I'm guessing it's pretty difficult to be classed as estranged.
Reply 3