The Student Room Group

Do I have to take driving lessons for my provisional license tests?

Well basically I can already drive and I've been driving for like four years in my home country (Yes, without a license .. not our point :biggrin:) and I'd like to start driving in England 'legally'. So I was just on directgov and apparently there are two tests .. theory and practical, can I just walk in and take both tests? How do things work?

Scroll to see replies

Reply 1
Apply for a provisional license, you don't need to take any tests for this but please read the relevant section on the website you mentioned regarding what a provisional license allows you to do and what restrictions are in place.
You can then book your theory test which a computer based test on the theory behind driving.
Once you've passed you can book your practical test.
Reply 2
Original post by hamza7
Well basically I can already drive and I've been driving for like four years in my home country (Yes, without a license .. not our point :biggrin:) and I'd like to start driving in England 'legally'. So I was just on directgov and apparently there are two tests .. theory and practical, can I just walk in and take both tests? How do things work?

You will have to get a provisional license first then you can take your theory test whenever but it will only be valid for a year so you will have to take driving lessons then they will book you in for your practical test before your theory runs out.
Reply 3
The theory test is valid for two years, not one ^^ But within those two years you need to pass your practical, which I'm sure you will ^^ I think everything else has been said above :P
Reply 4
I've been wondering something similar too, which may be of benefit to OP if I ask it in this thread here.