Hey there Sign in to join this conversationNew here? Join for free

Parents ashamed of me because....I sleep in?

Announcements Posted on
    • 0 followers

ReputationRep:
    Hi TSR,
    I have a bit of a strange one to put forward today. I went downstairs not even half an hour ago, and sat in the lounge with my parents as I put my trainers on. I said, 'Hi' to them and my Mother responded, 'hi' back. My father on the other hand stated that he wasn't sure if he wanted to talk to me. Upon asking why, he said that he was 'ashamed of me' because I slept in until 3pm.
    Now, admittedly, I do sleep in past 1pm a lot, however I am a student at uni (living at home and travelling in), I work a late shift at work (finish at 11:10pm on sun/mondays, getting home around half past) and I go out a lot with friends atm which sees me getting back at later hours. I often study late too: I'll revise/look at past papers/read articles on my laptop in bed, but they seem to think that all I do stay up and play games, which I rarely do.

Now, I was wondering if my fathers 'ashamed attitude' is fair or if it is, in my view a bit too far. He seems to think that all people that go to university wake up before 10am and go to bed before 11pm....he doesn't believe me when I say that a lot of people my age stay up past 3am and he says that he doesn't believe me when I say that people occasionally do all nighters. I find it hard to believe that someone can be so misinformed...or naive even.

Also bear in mind that I have had a bit of trouble in the past with depression and anxiety which occasionally makes me struggle with sleep if I have something on my mind.

Thanks
    • 5 followers

ReputationRep:
    My uncle is the same. You may know him. He's called Bilbo Baggins.
    • 0 followers

ReputationRep:
    I think being ashamed is taking it too far.
    • 9 followers

ReputationRep: