The Student Room Group

Occupational Psychologist

Hi, are there any occupational psychologist out here to give some advice on becoming an occupational psychologist? :smile:

I'm actually interested in becoming an occupational psychologist and I've read through BPS.

Just wanna clarify a few things here:

1. Do I need to get a doctorate in occupational psychology in order to become an occupational psychologist?
2. After completing the Stage 2, which is the two years of supervised practice and registered with Health Professions Council (HPS), I'm a qualified Occupational Psychologist, right?

Anyone studying Masters in Occupational Psychology? Mind to share your study experience here?:smile:
Reply 1
Hi, I'm currently doing an Occ psych masters so hopefully I can help.

1. You don't need a doctorate to become an Occupational psychologist, though by doing either a professional doctorate or PHD you would qualify for chartership without having to do the supervised practice.

2. Stage 2 also involves completing a log book and experiencing several areas of occupational psychology practice, this has to be approved by the BPS. Once it has been you become a chartered occ psychologist. But you can work in occupational psychology without being chartered

I have a few useful presentations on chartership if you want any more information on it.

I've enjoyed the masters, there's a lot of areas to cover so there's a lot of diverse areas to work in as a result. I would recommend trying to get some relevant work experience before you start so that the course content makes sense. If you want to know anything else let me know