The Student Room Group

Claasics? Or Linguistics?

I am a parent not a student, but you may be able to help.

I have a child aged 13 who is very good with languages. French, Spanish, Latin, Ancient Greek and Mandarin, two of which are studied outside school at weekends.

She is getting A* in Mandarin mock GCSE tests after just 14 months of study and my family has no background of Chinese.

Her ability with other languages is similar and she is asking to learn Russian and maybe Arabic, she really wants to be challenged. She seriously understands the grammar and structure of these languages not just the ability to read and write them by memory, if that makes sense.

However, her passion is for Classics and all things connected with ancient Rome and Greece. She is a straight A* student and she wants to study Classics at university, in fact she has 'made her mind up' about this.

Whilst Classics is undoubtedly intellectually challenging, will it be of any real practical benefit in the outside world?

We are a working class family without great financial resources and I whilst want her to go on and be successful and personally fulfilled, I also want her to be financially secure.

So, should she be focusing more on modern languages and how will a Classics degree benefit her if she does take that route? She still has years before any critical decision will need to be made, but maybe I should be doing something now...

Thank you
B
Reply 1