The Student Room Group

Imperial MSc Finance vs LSE MSc Economic History

Hey all,

I am a finance guy, i studied economics at undergrad, and my heart is in a trading career. I'm aware the two courses are completely different subjects, but in terms of general desirability and recognition:

1) Does the LSE name overshadow the more relevant finance degree at Imperial? (is it wise or foolish to sacrifice Imperial 'finance' for the 'LSE' name ?)

2) Is Economic History considered a 'respected' course by IBs and such? i.e. is it at all perceived as a 'lesser' course? (will i be at any disadvantage doing Economic History versus pure finance, economics, or economics and government at LSE, in terms of securing interviews and overall quality of degree?

Would i be right to say that there is a slight tradeoff between brand name power and course relevance here? Unless of course Imperial is equally as highly regarded in the necessary circles?

I have offers from both. What would you do in my situation? I actually know people in IB front office positions who hold both these degrees, but obviously i need to make a decision and pick one. Any input is welcomed and appreciated.

NB Was rejected by LSE MSc Finance. Economic History was my second preference.
(edited 12 years ago)

Scroll to see replies

Reply 1
Not sure if serious....

You want to go into trading, yet you're actually contemplating turning down Imperial MSc Finance for LSE MSc Economic History?

Dat **** cray
(edited 12 years ago)
Reply 2
It aint cray bra. I know a couple of big firm traders who hold Economic history masters. You saying that Imperial finance is much more desirable than LSE econ history? Is the power of the LSE name compromised due to the course economic history? a little more detail would be much appreciated sir
Reply 3
Original post by drugs