Results are out! Find what you need...fast. Get quick advice or join the chat
Hey there! Sign in to join this conversationNew here? Join for free to post

Impact of university choice

Announcements Posted on
    • 0 followers

ReputationRep:
    Hi there,

After browsing this forum quite a bit, I have to say I feel rather disheartened. I know that competition for TCs is very fierce at MC/SCs/City firms but sometimes I get the impression that not attending a Russel Group university (or top 1994) leaves you zero chance of securing such training contracts.

I am currently studying law in a middle-ranking university with AAB as entry requirements. Don't get me wrong, the quality of teaching etc is really good and I'm happy where I am. However, I can't help but feel I 'could have done better' as I obtained A*A*A at A levels. For financial and familial reasons I was not able to study away for home...

Long story short, I am predicted a first (although I may end up with a high 2:1 such as 69ish). I realise that academic performance is only one of various factors, but in the light of the trainee profiles I see on City law firm's recruitment brochures (ie Oxbridge, LSE students etc), I am wondering whether my application could even stand any chance...?

Thanks in advance for anyone's help
    • 0 followers

ReputationRep:
    (Original post by Aberdeeny)
    Hi there,

After browsing this forum quite a bit, I have to say I feel rather disheartened. I know that competition for TCs is very fierce at MC/SCs/City firms but sometimes I get the impression that not attending a Russel Group university (or top 1994) leaves you zero chance of securing such training contracts.